Skip to content

Holiday Harbor Fleet – 1:20 scale – {part 39}

December 17, 2015

The center window frame was assembled and dry fitted in place.   They still need the pane dividers…..not sure what they are called,  but I guess that’s as good a name for them as any.

#1    #2

#3

Refining the fit can come later……..I got right into assembling the stern window.   In allowing for five windows,  the center window will be a bit larger than the rest.   The divider uprights were also added.

#4

The pane dividers were added to the starboard windows…….1/16 x 1/16 is the size chosen for this.    They have been putty and sanded…….the mating of the side windows to the center window has been beveled.

#5

The same was done to the stern window……..without the beveling,  of course.

#6

For the moment,  I can do no dry fitting……….the hull is in the cellar.    With the molding work complete,   the primer work can be done.

#7  #8

Anything that could be hit from underneath was done first.   The hull even got a second touch up.   When it was dry,  the hull was flipped over,  and the rest of the upper part of the hull was painted.   It came out rather well………I figured that it would be a pain due to all the nooks and crannies,  that have built up during the building process.

#9    #10

#11    #12

#13

Hopefully,   I can get some color on her……the step that will really define the boat.   I’m batting so many different schemes for her…….I’m currently discussing it with the admiral to see what she prefers.    It’s now Mid December…….I feel as though I’ve made some good headway.   I have the port side windows still to assemble…….the others well on their way towards being glazed.   The next session will continue the task.

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment