Skip to content

The M&M fun ship – {part 47}

October 2, 2012

The next thought I had was of the communications aspect.   My thought is to create a sort of conning tower with a short mast attached.   At the stern will be another short mast…….between them will be the communication lines and such.

I began with the shaping of the tower.

This is three layers of basswood….after it was dry,  it went to the scroll saw for shaping.   Then it was sanded to give it a leading and trailing edge,  to define the edges.

Those pesky life preservers……….they will be the next aspect I do.   The plastic ropes will be cut off,  and real rope {thread} will be cemented on….it is a nice touch,  an idea given to me by another fellow on the MSW site.   The masts were next to create,  I soldered the pieces together.

They are not at the proper size at the moment…….they will be created and then trimmed after wards.   When the main masting was trimmed,  I did a dry fit on the tower.

Beads were added to the tops of the masts to terminate the ends.   The tower was sanded a bit more with fine paper to smooth it out.   It was painted and dry fitted after wards.

I meant to do this earlier,  but I also added the molding around the front section of the pilot house.   It would have been much easier without the railings being there,  but they still went on OK.

I finished this session with the location of the stern mast,  having drilled a hole for it in the roof.

Another suggestion given to me,  was that there should be a couple more lights on it,  for navigation and ID purposes….I quite agree.   I was going to add one at the bow,  but thought different of it,  not wanting to make the looks too gaudy.   So,  my earlier thoughts weren’t too far off the mark…….I will reconsider…….adding one at the stern and one on the tower mast as well.

That should take care of that aspect in good form.   The build is creeping ever closer to it’s conclusion……..Hopefully,  I can finish it this week!

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment