Skip to content

The M&M fun ship – {part 50}

October 5, 2012

Finishing up on these few last aspects,  has been slow.   From the looks at this point,  this week will be the finish.   I had been successful in insuring that Andy saw the wiper pictures.   He gave me a better solution as to how they are to be positioned.

The next aspect I need to work on,  is the stereo.   Again,  you have to remember that this is a fantasy build…….the laws of probability can be bent any way I want to…..hee,   hee….hee.   It starts out as two pieces of wood,  cemented together.   I plan to encase the sides with mahogany,  just as I did with the receiver/radio.   A small slice of dowel will serve as the turn table.

Knobs are added next…….simply,  the larger hole punch outs from parts,  sliced up thin.   ……..all cast – off material.   The tops of the stereo parts were painted chocolate brown……now the entire assembly will get two coats of semi-gloss lacquer.   Other parts are added along the way…….the record on the turn table…….the wiring,  etc.

These are decal I made a long time ago……..they are the instrument detail for an R/C plane……dandy dial indicators and such!

The stylus arm was a real thinker…….I had to do some searching to find the right stuff to make it.

It’s made up of three pieces…..an eye bolt,  a short piece of brass rod,  and a chain plate rod…..just extra stuff I had lying around.   It was time to cement the assembly onto the deck.   The wires were simply stuffed into the corner as it was installed.   They are also well out of the way…..no one will snag them,  because they are near a table and no seat can go there.

I began to assemble the speaker cabs……..

While I was doing that,  I also strung the grab ropes on the life preservers.

Soon,  I had both speaker cabs fleshed out.   I will recess the fronts and add a back on them,  which will be flush.

Once these last two aspects are cemented in place……it will be finished.

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment