Skip to content

The M&M fun ship – {part 51}

October 5, 2012

The last two aspects……..I’m almost there!   With the stereo completed,  the only part left was the speaker cabs.   In the last build log,  the assembly had started,  along with the painting and assembly of the life preservers.   It starts off with the completed boxes.

I had gone on line and looked up speaker faces.   When I had what I wanted,  the images were imported into the decal maker,  to be re-sized.   Instead of printing them on decal paper though,  I printed them on regular paper and sprayed them down with the bonder,  to seal in the ink.

Then the cabs were painted…..I would have stained them,  but they wouldn’t match the rest of the equipment.

Meanwhile,  I was also working on the other life preserver.   I completed one of then yesterday.   Pictured also,  is one of the decals…….I was going to put U.S.A. on the bottom,  but they didn’t come out too well.

When the first one was ready……it was cemented in place.

I bounced back and forth……I cut out the speakers images and cemented them in place in the recess of the cabs.

Then,  I returned to the preservers,  finishing the other one,  and cementing that one in place as well.

I wish I had finer netting for the faces on the cabs,  but this will have to do.

When both were done,  and allowed to dry,  a mahogany frame was cemented around the netting,  bordering it off.

The face frame,  as well as the entire box,  got one coat of semi gloss lacquer,  to tone down the shine from the paint.

Here they are after they dried.

The table was cleaned off……..when these are cemented in place,  the build will be finished…..the first part of it anyway.

The speakers are now in place……….

I mentioned the first part…….I want to get some pictures of the ship without the characters on the deck.   It may be a novelty build,  but it is a model first and foremost.   This build has been a lot of fun to do……I was also able to try out a few ideas,  which I’m happy to report,  that came out quite well.   I’m very happy with the entire outcome.   This was supposed to be a simple build, but like a snowball,  grew to be quite complex over time.   The gallery is soon to follow………thanks for looking in…….and thanks for all of your kind comments 🙂  😉

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment